UPDATE: Museveni reschedules today’s planned on air campaign

NEWS- President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has urged the newly appointed Ministers to fight corruption and mobilize the masses on wealth creation, saying that orruption is an evil that undermines a lot of efforts to develop a nation.

The President made the remarks yesterday at State House in Entebbe, during the swearing-in ceremony of the 6 newly appointed Ministers who were vetted and approved by the parliamentary Appointments Committee and the swearing-in ceremony was presided over by the Head of Public Service and Secretary to Cabinet, Ms Lucy Nakyobe.

The new Ministers include the Minister of State for Relief, Disaster Preparedness and Refugees, Hon Lillian Aber, the Minister of State for Northern Uganda, Dr Kenneth Omona and the Minister of State for Karamoja Affairs, Hon Florence Wamala Nambozo, the Minister of State for Energy and Mineral Development in charge of Minerals, Hon Phiona Nyamutoro, the Minister of State for Trade, Gen Wilson Mbasu Mbadi and the Minister of State for the Youth and Children, Hon Balaam Barugahara.

- Advertisement continue reading below -

President Museveni congratulated the new Ministers upon their appointment and tasked Hon Barugahara to encourage the youth to embrace any of the four sectors of the economy that can help them to create wealth which include commercial agriculture, manufacturing and artisanship, services and ICT.

The President also pledged to pardon some opposition politicians and members who are being accused of mobilising the youth to stage illegal protests in the form of burning car tyres on the roads, on condition that they promise that they will never again take part in such criminality since government uses a lot of money to put up such infrastructure and protect lives of Ugandans.

During the same event, Ms Nakyobe congratulated the new ministers upon being appointed to their new roles and strongly urged them to live up to the confidence bestowed upon them by President Museveni and she introduced the new Principal Private Secretary to the President, Ms Gloria Asio Omaswa.